La Madera

Wow, it’s been awhile, but I’ve been still trudging away with Spanish.  I think I’m somewhere around A2, at the end of the first year of a college Spanish course or the end of the second year of a high school Spanish course.

Anyways, the word for the day is ….

La Madera

I kept running into this word in my reading, and just wasn’t understanding from context.  I was thinking wine, but, it dawned on me that “madera” had a more general purpose, so I thought it might be “material.”  At that point, I decided to dust off the dictionary and lo and behold.  

It’s….

a kind of material.  I was half there.  It’s LUMBER, WOOD.

After all of that effort, I must ask…. Why didn’t I figure that out from context?

Leave a Reply

